Coimbatore District Basketball Association Gears Up for All India Basketball Tournaments

Coimbatore District Basketball Association (CDBA) is all set to host the highly anticipated All India Basketball Tournament for Men and Women, showcasing the country’s top basketball teams. With a rich history spanning 55 years for the Men’s tournament and 19 years for the Women’s tournament, this event has become a symbol of basketball excellence.

Scheduled to take place from May 27th to June 1st, 2023, the tournaments will bring together the nation’s leading basketball teams in a battle for glory. Ten renowned teams have been selected to participate in the Men’s tournament, including powerhouses such as Lonavala – Indian Navy, New Delhi – Indian Air Force, New Delhi – Indian Railways, Banglore – Bank of Baroda, Trivandrum- Kerala Police, Chennai – Indian Bank, Chennai- Income Tax, and Chennai – Tamilnadu Basketball Association, among others.

Meanwhile, the Women’s tournament will feature eight competitive teams, including Trivandrum – Kerala State Electricity Board (KSEB), Chennai – Tamilnadu Basketball Association-TRW and Chhattisgarh – SAI.

The winning teams will not only secure prestigious titles but will also be awarded significant cash prizes. The victorious Men’s team will receive Rs. 1,00,000 along with the Nachimuthu Gounder Cup, while the Women’s champion will be awarded Rs. 50,000 and the C.R.I. Pumps Trophy. Runners-up and second runners-up in both categories will also receive substantial cash prizes and trophies.

The tournament will kick off on the evening of May 27th, 2023, at the V.O.C. Park Basketball Court. The teams will compete on a league basis until May 30th, leading up to the Semi-Finals on May 31st and the Finals on June 1st. All matches will be held from 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm, and spectators can attend the games free of charge.

The inaugural function, scheduled for May 27th, will be graced by Balakrishnan, Commissioner of Police, Coimbatore City, as the Chief Guest. Selvaraj, President of CDBA and Joint Managing Director of C.R.I. Group, will serve as the Guest of Honour and preside over the ceremony. The tournament will conclude with the valedictory function on June 1st at 8:00 pm.