New Collectors Assume Charge in Erode, Namakkal, Krishnagiri, and Tirupur Districts

New collectors assumed charge in Namakkal, Krishnagiri, Erode, and Tirupur districts on Monday. Raja Gopal Sunkara became the 35th collector of Erode, replacing Krishnanunni who was transferred to the finance department. Sunkara, previously serving as the executive director of Chennai Metropolitan Water Supply and Sewerage Board, prioritized addressing people’s problems and ensuring the effective implementation of government welfare schemes.

In Namakkal, Uma became the 16th collector, succeeding Shreya P Singh. Uma, who joined the Tamil Nadu government as a medical officer in 1995, holds an MBBS and MD in community medicine. She is the first government doctor from Tamil Nadu to be promoted to civil services.

Sarayu, formerly the joint managing director for Tamil Nadu Milk Producers’ Federation Limited, assumed charge as the 13th collector of Krishnagiri, replacing Deepak Jacob. In Tirupur, Christuraj, previously the commissioner of Salem Corporation, took over as the new collector. Christuraj served as the District Revenue Officer in Coimbatore from 2014 to 2017.

The new collectors participated in grievances day meetings and received petitions from the public, assuring them of their commitment to resolving issues and ensuring the proper implementation of welfare schemes.








Photo credits: Times of India