Ashwin secures the LGB Formula 4 JK Tyre Championship

Ashwin Datta of Dark Don Racing pushed the pedal to the metal in the last lap to win the race and emerge champion in the LGB Formula 4 category at the final round of the 25th JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship. Ashwin won both races at the Kari Motor Speedway with domination.

“This is probably the closest championship JK (Tyre) has ever seen in 25 years. Going into the final race, only one point separated the top two. I was leading comfortably and then the safety car came in. It slashed my lead and Arya (Singh) overtook me. I did not give up, put my head down and gave my best. I would never forget this moment and this day in my entire life. I’m grateful to my whole team at Dark Don Racing for their consistent support throughout,” he said.

The Formula LGB 4 car is a beast which can go beyond 150 kmph on a flat straight. The last race and last few laps saw high adrenaline action as Chennai-based Ashwin, Saran Vikram Tmars and Arya Singh were engaged in a great chase at the 2.3km circuit. Ashwin won the last race with a timing of 27:46.956.

Kyle, who showed speed and consistency by winning two races on Saturday, was strategic on Sunday. He knew finishing the race was more important than being reckless.

As he came in second, he knew he had already sealed the championship, as he stood at a tally of 66 points aggregate. For the teenager from Chennai who has emerged from karting and graduated to racing formula cars, this was a big day. Vinith had 60 points total.

“It was overall a great season with DTS Racing, with Vinith finishing second as well. It's very difficult to win the championship having missed one round. In the end, it’s turned out to be a pretty great season and a great weekend for me,” said Kyle.

In the JK Tyre presents Royal Enfield Continental GT Cup, Sudheer Sudhakar from Delhi won the 10-lap race, clocking 14:00.738. In second place came Anish D Shetty from Bengaluru, while Allwin Xavier came third.

In the JK Tyre Endurance League Cup powered by United CRA, Abhishek V and Amarnath Menon came out tops. The pair of Jeoffrey Reviven and Johann Reeves was second. Jayanth Prathipati and Alwin Sundar secured third place. The total time was one hour of endurance on bikes.

Unlike in previous years, this time the organisers were able to conduct the events with freedom and spectators were physically present at the Kari Motor Speedway.