NGI presents 14th edition of Lifetime Achievement Award

The Nehru Group of Institutions(NGI) organized the 14th edition of the Shri P.K. Das Memorial Best Faculty Awards and Lifetime Achievement Award on Thursday. Various faculties of distinguished colleges were nominated for the Award in recognition of their contribution to specific domains.

NGI has been instituting the Shri P. K. Das Memorial Best Faculty Award & Life Time Achievement Award from 2009 on December 15th of every year, remembering the birth date of the Founder Chairman Late P. K. Das. Subsequently, the present year has witnessed 1849 nominees from various institutions across the country, out of which 17 awardees have been rewarded.

The felicitation of the Chief Guest and Guest of Honor including the Jury panel was presided over by the Principals of NGI.

Adv. Dr P. Krishnadas, Chairman & Managing Trustee, NGI presided over the ceremony. Addressing the milestone journey of the institution since its inception in 1969, he stated that the Institution currently comprises more than 18,000 students across its binary colleges in Tamil Nadu and Kerala. Highlighting the New Education Policy and the UGC norms, allowing educational excellence inclusive of creativity and other practical aspects. The utility of the provisions of flexibility and skill enhancements in the upcoming policy implementation is a productive PAN India solution in the education sector.

Dr H. N. Nagaraja, Director General, Graphic Era Deemed to be University Dehradun, Uttarakhand, presided over the inaugural of the award ceremony. While addressing the audience he stated that teachers are meant to be by choice but not by chance, which certainly reflects their contribution and sacrifice in the profession.
He specified that the contribution of every teacher lies in moulding future citizens. This is referred to as imparting personality development within every individual. In this reference, the Personality of a person is characterized by five components Physical, Mental, Social, Moral and Spiritual development. Hence in the drastic change in the psychological transformation within the student’s mind the need for a mentorship program is necessary.

Dr M. Senthil, Coimbatore Institute of Technology, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition for his 40 whole years of service in academic research and contribution to the DRDO.

Guest of Honor, Prof. R. Sharma, Former Head & Coordinator, UGC – SAP Dept. Biochemistry & Dean, School of Life Sciences, North-Eastern Hill University (NEHU), Shillong, Dr P. Krishnakumar, CEO & Secretary of NGI and Dr B. Anirudhan, Principal, Nehru Arts and Science College (NASC) were the dignitaries on the dais.


(Further details Awaited)