Murmu takes the Presidential Oath

Photo source DD News

The President-elect Droupadi Murmu officially took charge as the 15th President, the highest constitutional post, with due respect to 21 gun salutes. Chief Justice of India N V Ramana, administered the oath of Office of the President to her.

Escorted by Vice-President and Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla to the Central Hall.

Members of the Council of Ministers, Governors, Chief Ministers, MPs and principal civil and military officials took part in the oath-taking ceremony.

On July 22, Droupadi Murmu created a historic defeat against Yashwant Sinha in the Presidential election, becoming the first tribal and the second woman President of India.