Watson ton helps CSK win IPL 2018

IPL 11 saw its last game of the season at the Wankhede between two well deserving teams- The Chennai Super Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad. Amid all the predictions before the grand finale, the chants were just for one team CSK led by Thala M.S. Dhoni. Coming back after a gap of two years, the men in yellow were mocked initially for their players being over 30 years and not having varities like other teams but in the end they proved all their critics wrong by winning their third title- a feat which only Mumbai Indians had achieved before the epic clash.

Opener Shane Watson simply tore apart the SRH bowlers after starting on a precautionary note which saw him consuming as many as 10 balls to get off the mark including a maiden over being bowled by Bhuvaneshwar Kumar. The Dashing former Aussie player scored an unbeaten 117 n.o. off just 57 deliveries which included 11 to the fence and eight huge sixes to light up the night at Wankhede stadium in Mumbai.

Sunrisers Hyderabad who were pegged back early on  by CSK splendid bowling managed to pick pace in the second half of the inning stealing 100 odd runs but not before losing wickets at regular intervals in a disastrous way. CSK galloped home with ease with as many as 9 balls to spare. Watson was declared Player of the match while Losing captain of SRH achieved a rare feat of completing 700 runs in a season.