Lensmen from Mumbai, Kerala capture DJMPC 2021

The photo taken by Photographer Sarang Naik and Abhilash Viswa were declared the winning photographs at the prestigious DJ Memorial Photography Contest 2021.

Lakshmi Machine Works Limited (LMW) instituted the DJ Memorial Photography Contest (DJMPC) in 2012 in memory of its past Chairman and Managing Director, Dr. D. Jayavarthanavelu (DJ), who had an immense passion for photography.

DJMPC is an annual competitive event that identifies, recognizes and honors talent in photography. It carries total prize money of Rs.10 Lakhs. DJMPC 2021 received around 8,617 images from 39 countries with 2,040 participants across the Creative Nature & Sunrise/Sunset contest categories. Within each category, besides the top two prizes, ten participants are awarded a certificate of merit for their efforts.

DJMPC 2021 culminated with an online awards ceremony held on 30th July 2021. During the event, K Soundhar Rajhan, Director – Operations of LMW delivered the welcome address. Sanjay Jayavarthanavelu, Chairman and Managing Director, LMW, delivered the Special address and congratulated the prize winners.

Mumbai based photographer Sarang Naik’s ‘The Goblet of Fire’ and Rajasthan based lensman Abhishek Purohit’s ‘Bokeh Crane’ won the first and second place in Creative Nature Category.

Kerala based photographer Abhilash Viswa’s  ‘River Crossing’ and VietNam based lensman Le Chau Dao’s Sunset won the first and second place in  Sunrise/Sunset category.