Edappadi remains EPS’ stronghold, much to prove in the days ahead!

Current Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu Edappadi K.Palaniswami who contested in his home constituency Edappadi, has won over DMK’s T.Sampath Kumar with 70,000+ votes

Palaniswami has contested from this constituency seven times and has won it for the fifth time. His first victory here came in 1989, followed by 1991, 2011 and 2016 reported TNM. He was defeated in this constituency by now ally PMK in 1996 and 2006. This is the first time he contested from Edappadi as the Chief Minister.

File Image

It must be noted that EPS has gained significant influence over people across the State since he became CM in 2017. A strongman in the party, his rise to power was not without years of hardwork.

He was not the son of an elite and highly successful politician, and yet he became one of the trusted men by former Chief Minister J.Jayalalitha by proving himself.When the ADMK won in the last 2 elections, he was given the Highways and Minor Ports portfolio (2011) and Public Works, Government of Tamil Nadu (2016)

Eyes on 2026:

Losing Tamil Nadu to their opposition DMK in the 2021 could be seen as a setback to all the powerful leaders in ADMK, but to all of them, especially to senior leaders like Edappadi Palaniswami and O.Paneerselvam, the coming years, particularly 2026 will be major battle to show that ADMK under their leadership can win back Tamil Nadu just like how their leader Jayalalitha had won after her defeat.

Newcomers like Kamal Haasan and Seeman also have their eyes on winning big in 2026. Soon to be crowned Chief Minister M.K.Stalin has proved that DMK under his leadership can win this election by large margins all by itself. It has taken a massive lead singlehandedly. But it must not be forgotten that Stalin’s victory came with the guidance of Prashant Kishor, the public’s opinion over ADMK’s alliances among other reasons.  2026 is certainly going to be a tough battle than it was in 2021 for those who won and those who failed.