Satchidananda Girls are the U-17 National Hockey Champions

The Under-17 Girls Team of Satchidananda Jothi Nikethan International School, Kallar, Coimbatore, Tamilnadu won the National Hockey Championship-2019 in the recently conducted National Hockey Tournament among CBSE Schools held at Dr.Amrit LalIshrat Memorial Sunbeam School, Varanasi from November 14 – 19, 2019.

They beat Bharatiya Vidhya Bhavan, Kodugu, Karnataka by a convincing margin of 3-1 goals to prove the supremacy in the field of Hockey. In the semi finals, they beat General Raj Senior Secondary School, New Delhi by margin of 4-1 and in the earlier league matches they beat O.P.Jindal School, Raigarh 11-0; Indian School, Oman 5-0; and drew with the finalist Bharatiya Vidhya Bhavan, Kodugu 1-1.In all winners from seven zones including one from outside the country took part in the tournament. The teams that our school defeated were the winners from their respective zones across the country. S.Varshini was awarded with the ‘Best Forward Player’ and C.V. Dhanusha received the ‘Best Defender Award’ for Under 17 girls.

Our Under-17 boys team who emerged as South Zone I winners ended up claiming Bronze in the CBSE National Hockey Championship held in the same venue. S.S. Sree Ram was adjudged the ‘Best Forward Player’ in the Under 17 boys category in the tournament.

It is moment of great pride that the South Zone-I champions, our U-17 girls beat PSBB, Chennai by 13-0, BVB Public School, Bhimavaram by 10-0, The Lawrence School, Lovedale by 8-0, in their earlier rounds held at Satchidananda Jothi Nikethan International School, Kallar to qualify themselves for the Nationals finals.

We are glad to share that besides hosting South Zone Hockey tournament for the past six years we also ended up finishing runners up on a couple of occasions including Last year’s National Hockey Championship held at Gurunanak Model Senior Secondary School, Doraha, Ludhiana, Punjab.

Thiru. S.P Velumani, honorable Minister for Municipal Administration, Rural development and Implementation of Special Programme, Government of Tamil Nadu, The District Collector, Coimbatore Sri. K. Rajamani I.A.S., Coimbatore City Municipal Corporation Commissioner Sravan Kumar IAS, Sri K. Ramasamy, Managing Trustee of the school and Dr. Kavidasan, Secretary of the school appreciated the students and wished them Goodluck. Congratulated everyone in person and thanked the Physical Director Mr. Gerard Arokiaraj, the coaches Mr. S. Yoganand and Mrs. T.P. Anitha, the parents and all those who made this victory possible.

Dr. P. Senthil Rajkumar, Vice President, Hockey Unit of Tamilnadu expressed that it is a big moral booster for a team from Tamilnadu and the Hockey Unit of Tamilnadu will extend all the support to produce more champions in the years to come. Dr. V. Ganasen, Academic Advisor, Dr. R. Umamaheswari, Principal all the staff and students of the school congratulated them for their meritorious achievement in making the school proud.